anki cards – listening

I mentioned a little while ago that my listening was considerably worse than my reading.  Whereas I was SRSing sentences for reading and writing, I wasn’t doing anything of the sort specifically for listening.  Watching TV was easy… as long as I looked at the subs – I’m pretty sure the focus on reading in my Anki deck was the cause of this.

To get around this, since some of my sentences had audio, I made another new model – this time with only an audio clip for the question (accompanied by “Listen!”), with the answer as the transcription.  The goal?  To understand and say the sentence back as well as possible.

As with music, you can use Audacity to splice mp3s for Anki use – as well as the CantoDict audio, I’ve been ripping the audio from Cantonese shows and cutting them up into bitesize chunks for this kind of card.  These don’t have transcriptions (the subs aren’t representative of what’s said in Cantonese), so I’ve been asking my Hong Kong friends nicely to explain words and phrases I can’t figure out myself.  Note that here I’ve dropped the Jyutping altogether – it’s not really needed given the audio (and also since I can produce most sounds in Cantonese accurately now anyway).

I have more of these cards than writing cards, but fewer than reading – I’ve already used most of the qualifying CantoDict sentences, but using Audacity takes a little longer than copying-and-pasting sentences.  When I first started using this card type, perhaps unsurprisingly, it was really hard to understand what was being said.  After a few goes though, it got easier, and I think it’s improved my general listening ability a lot.  Perhaps most importantly though, along with the reading, writing, singing and speaking cards, it makes reviewing cards a lot more unpredictable and fun – variety is the spice of life, as they say 😉

3 thoughts on “anki cards – listening

  1. Pingback: How To Learn Cantonese « thousand mile journey

  2. It seems that you are making your own Anki decks for certain Cantonese contents. Is there a site where they share already made Cantonese decks? I’m not so tech savvy and already got lost by reading about the program. Wouldn’t it take longer for a learner to sit and try to create these decks especially if they don’t know Chinese characters yet or still new at jyutping? ]= ty.

  3. Heya

    Have you downloaded Anki? Go File>Download>Shared Decks (I think) and you can download decks that other people have made public. AFAIK there are no shared Canto decks. I do have Cantonese decks but I can’t upload them because they include copyrighted material.

    Although it takes longer to create your own deck, it’s usually easier to work with because it’s… yours. It’ll include words and sentences you’ve come across, and so will mean more to you. I might create a deck of original sentences in the future and upload it, but it’d be kinda time consuming. Also with Anki: don’t read, do. Play around with it, it’s quite simple.

    If you’re new at Jyutping make cards so that you can match up sounds with letters and numbers: jyutping on the front, sounds on the back. Use CantoDict for the sentences and audio (this is something I can’t upload myself because of copyright, by the way).

    More generally: go and read through this (at the very least section 4, which is the most important bit) http://www.alljapaneseallthetime.com/blog/all-japanese-all-the-time-ajatt-how-to-learn-japanese-on-your-own-having-fun-and-to-fluency to get an overview of how language learning works and then read this https://eldonreeves.wordpress.com/how-to-learn-cantonese/ to see where specific points of AJATT don’t work for Cantonese. Then get going with your Ankis 😉

Leave a Reply

