cantonese death note transcriptions

I’ve recently been transcribing and cutting out audio from dialogue from Death Note and reviewing them in my SRS (for reading, listening and writing practice), and I figured it might be nice to post up some sentences from it here.

The top ones are the Standard Chinese subtitles; the bottom are what’s actually being said, in vernacular characters.  I thought it was pretty interesting how sometimes the two are virtually the same, and sometimes… they’re not.  At all.  They’ve all been checked through by a native speaker, so hopefully they should all be bona fide.

The translations come from the English version of Death Note – sometimes, they’re slightly very loose (I didn’t note down the English for the last three for that reason).  If you’re not already using it, I strongly recommend using Cantofish to see what the readings and meanings are for any words you don’t get.  By the way, character names: 奇拿=Kira and  阿月=Light.  (I spent a while checking and re-checking CantoDict for 奇拿, wondering why such an (apparently) common word wasn’t in there; boy, was my face red when I figured it out.)

Anyway, here they are (in no particular order); if they’re useful to you and you’d like some more, let me know, and I’ll try to post some more up at some point.  Enjoy 🙂

你是否真的完全明白
你係唔係真係完全明白
“Do you completely understand?”

這麼早就回來真罕見
咁早返好少有喎
“It’s rare for him to be back so early”

阿月,最近讀書成績怎樣
阿月,最近讀書讀成點呀
“Light, How have your studies gone recently?”

我明白了,原來阿月的爸爸是警方的人
我明白啦,原來阿月嘅爸爸係警方嘅人
“Now I get it. Actually, your father’s a policeman!”

這個就是你可以對抗警方的自信
呢個就係你可以對抗警方嘅自信
“And that must be the reason why you’re so confident?”

難道奇拿有辦法知道警方的內部情報
唔通奇拿有辦法知道警方內部情報
“Could it be that [he] has some way of knowing the police’s inside information?”

他這樣做明顯……是向我挑戰
佢咁做好明顯……係向我挑戰
“It’s obvious now. This is a direct challenge to me.”

奇拿有某種辦法可以得到調查總部的情報
奇拿有某種辦法可以得到調查總部情報
“So Kira has found a way to obtain information from the task force headquarters.”

奇拿的真正目的是甚麼?
奇拿嘅真正目的係乜嘢?
“What’s Kira’s real target?”

就是說, 隨時有可能會被奇拿殺死
咁即係話, 隨時隨地都有可能會被奇拿殺死
“Sir, the truth is, we could be killed by Kira at any time.”

到底為甚麼?
到底點解?
“What’s this about?”

很簡單,因為我們三個不想這麼快就死
好簡單姐,因為我哋三個唔想咁快死
“Isn’t it clear? It’s because we [three] value our lives, sir.”

不可以,我說過,不能在我家以外的地方對話
唔可以,我講過,唔可以喺屋企以外對話
“I told you already [Ryuk], you can’t talk to me outside”

奇拿他真是一個殺人狂,是魔鬼
奇拿佢真係個殺人狂,係魔鬼
“He’s a murderer, [a devil]” <– very loose, beware!  殺人狂 is “homicidal maniac” 🙂

怎麼今天晚上這麼早就回來?爸爸
今晚咁早返嘅?爸爸
“How come you’re back so early tonight, Dad?”

如果不行的話我們會辭職
如果唔得嘅我哋會辭咗份工

所以真正找出L的不是我
所以真正搵出L嘅唔係我

還有五十個這麼多
重有五十個咁多

4 thoughts on “cantonese death note transcriptions

  1. Very very cool! I’m studying Cantonese, too, and I love Death Note (I’ve watched the movie several times in Japanese — I’m not sure if my DVD has a Cantonese dub or not). Thanks for this!

  2. Pingback: How To Learn Cantonese « thousand mile journey

  3. Pingback: Yet More on Anki – Ultimate Cards « Thousand Mile Journey

Leave a Reply

