TMJ Update

As I mentioned a couple posts back, I’ll be moving house/country shortly and changing jobs. I’ve got a few posts lined up for the interim but I might not be around to respond to comments immediately.

Looking back, I realise I’ve done diddly-squat on the music side of things recently. The main reason for this was that I had to take a forced sabbatical (the house I was living in of the summer was, how to say, insecure), but it’s not improved my playing at all.

However, I did recently join a concert band recently playing my flute. (Flute rather than saxophone because there’s only one realistic choice when your sole method of transport is a bicycle.) This was good fun and was a nice reminder of how playing music is very much a social occupation; I haven’t played in groups as much as perhaps I should, so it was a great experience. I’m sorry to be leaving it so soon!

Onto language: the poll on Cangjie input is strongly suggesting I should go down the freebie route – so, at some unspecified point in the medium-term future I’ll publish a free Anki deck based on the Taiwan Grades 1-8 deck already available. It’ll feature Cantonese readings for all characters, input codes, meanings in English (possibly Chinese too) and Heisig-style ordering. And, once I’ve checked out copyright restrictions on Heisig keywords, mnemonic stories too.

There’s been no progress either on determining the most common ~1000 HKSCS characters – I’m thinking of maybe Googling each one in turn and ranking them based on the number of results may be the way to go. Other suggestions are still welcome and I’d be delighted if there was a pre-made list kicking around somewhere.

Also, for you Cantonese learners out there, J40 has virtually single-handedly put together a free offline Cantonese dictionary. I’ve been using it for a few days on Ubuntu and it’s great – check it out here.

Finally, thanks to y’all for reading my ramblings 🙂

– E

4 thoughts on “TMJ Update

  1. > I’m thinking of maybe Googling each one in turn and ranking them based on the number of results may be the way to go.
    I once wrote a script for a friend that did this exact same thing with chengyus. I imagine it’ll work for your Cantonese characters as well, as long as you can put them in a textfile.
    If you want I can send you the script, just shoot me an email.

  2. I am admire your excellent and brilliant blog, very genius and intelligent is display herein where do you get these outlandish writings from? An additional planetary system known only to creatures of a nother dimension or that! Yes? I propose my favourite author for many prestigeous plaudits.[cheapwatches4u.com]

Leave a Reply

