Interesting Observations #1: L3 Songs

Assumptions pending, here are some observations I have made about learning Mandarin songs:

  1. In ten hours, split over a period of several days, I can sing intermediate-difficulty songs correctly by reading from Chinese characters.
  2. I can understand 70% of songs learnt to this level when listening to them.
  3. In thirty hours, split over several weeks, I can memorize songs and sing them without reference to lyrics.
  4. I can understand 100% of songs learnt to this level when listening to them.
  5. I can understand 10% of intermediate-difficultly songs I have never seen the lyrics for, regardless of how many times I listen to them.

Examples of intermediate-difficulty songs:

  1. 周杰倫 – 退後
  2. 林俊傑 – 新地球
  3. 方大同 – 黑白
  4. 周杰倫 – 傻笑
  5.  蘇打綠 – 小時候

That is all.

Leave a Reply

